Strawberry Hill

I’m an english literature student, and I recently read The Castle of Otranto, by Horace Walpole. This novel, with its flying helmets and moving portraits, is widely recognized as the first gothic novel. As a part of the course this term, we went on a trip to Strawberry Hill house, the gothic inspired home of Horace Walpole. I have to admit I was surprised by the fact that we were visiting a gothic castle referred to as Strawberry Hill. Those words aren’t exactly what comes to mind when I think of vampires and old castles.. However, the castle was beautiful, and so were the surroundings. I though I would share some of my captions with you 🙂

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Hill

  1. Rob says:

    Wow, it’s looking good. I haven’t been to Strawberry Hill House since it was refurbished.

    It’s great to see some of the old place. I graduated from St Mary’s College and parts of my final year project were filmed and presented in one of the lower floors of Strawberry Hill House. I get the occasional invite, as an alumnus, to go on tours of the building. I really should take them up on it.

    Thanks for sharing. Good to see Peggy’s Pantry is still doing okay too.

    • viktoriablog says:

      Strawberry Hill house is looking really beautiful at the moment! Me and my seminar group got a guided tour of the entire house. You should go, I think you’d really enjoy it.
      You are so lucky to have gone to St. Mary’s College, it looks so beautiful 🙂
      And yes, we had lunch at Peggy’s Pantry, such a charming place!

  2. Andrew says:

    No it’s proven that a lot of vampires hang out at Peggy’s Pantry.

Leave a Reply

